> Home > Overview > Parent Information > VELS Curriculum - Years 5 and 6 at school

VELS Level 4 - Years 5 and 6 at School

At school and at home, children are supported to ensure that the last two years at primary school are positive, challenging and improve their confidence about themselves and their learning.

In Years 5 and 6 all learning areas have standards. The table below shows areas in which standards are set for assessment and reporting in these years. Standards continue to be set in all these areas until the end of Year 10. The primary and secondary years of a student’s education are linked through the Victorian Essential Learning Standards in this way. Primary and secondary schools are working together with a common curriculum framework.


Victorian Essential Learning Standards - Years 5 and 6

Physical, Personal and Social Learning
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Interpersonal Development
  • Personal Learning
  • Civics and Citizenship
Discipline-based Learning
  • The Arts
  • English
  • The Humanities – Economics
  • The Humanities – Geography
  • The Humanities – History
  • Languages Other Than English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Interdisciplinary Learning
  • Communication
  • Design, Creativity and Technology
  • Information and Communications Technology
  • Thinking Processes

This is a time when schools provide many opportunities for students to take responsibility for their learning and also to demonstrate their individual talents.

Children do not all achieve the same standard at the same time; some will find parts of their learning program more challenging than others. Teachers and parents can use the standards to help children achieve by working together to develop the most appropriate learning approaches.

Standards in Years 5 and 6 in particular areas of learning are illustrated in the following examples.


In Years 5 and 6 children read a wide variety of texts which include stories, novels and poems. Their ability to understand other materials develops as their English skills strengthen. They read tables, use diagrams and analyse computerbased information.

The writing and speaking skills being demonstrated in projects, research and stories indicate that students are becoming more complex thinkers and are consolidating their learning in relation to texts and language. Their English skills are used to present ideas and information in visual presentations and to edit, correct and speak about work, demonstrating standards achieved in other areas of learning.


Mathematics becomes more challenging and the standards indicate that students are expected to:

The Humanities

Students learn about Australia: its history, geography, economy, government, traditions and cultures. They also learn about other countries in the Asia–Pacific region.

By the end of Year 6 students:


The communication area of learning assists students to understand that language and thinking differs from subject to subject. The knowledge and skills in this area supports students to convey information and understanding in other areas of the Standards.

Khai’s learning experiences

In these years Khai continues to develop his thinking skills and his ability to reason and enquire about issues.

He is becoming more confident in thinking about an issue or topic and generating imaginative solutions in contexts ranging from environmental matters to improving a local playground.

He has developed the ability to build strong friendships and establish positive links with a range of people. He has an understanding of other people’s feelings and is learning to manage conflict. These skills in interpersonal development will become more important as he grows older.

Khai learns more about different languages and cultures through the standards in languages other than English (LOTE). The standards in this area of learning are introduced in these years.

He is able to initiate and respond to spoken and written language using culturally appropriate expressions and mannerisms.

By the end of Year 6 Khai also knows:

  • how to maintain his fitness
  • the basic principles of healthy eating
  • about changes experienced in puberty


National Assessment Program - Literacy And Numeracy (NAPLAN)

In Year 5 students participate in the national NAPLAN tests in Reading, Writing, Language Conventions and Numeracy. These national tests provide information on how students are progressing, support improvements in teaching and learning, and provides a framework to compare student performance around Australia. NAPLAN tests were introduced in 2008 and replaced the Victorian Achievement Improvement Monitor (AIM) tests.


Back to Top